Mrs. Cindy Dewey, having achieved the status of Master School Principal, was recognized on March 13th at the Arkansas State Board of Education meeting at the Arkansas Department of Education. Mrs. Dewey completed three years of rigorous professional development plus an additional year of performance evaluations to achieve the designation this spring from the Arkansas Leadership Academy’s Master Principal Program. Tony Wood, Arkansas Commissioner of Education, David Cook, Director of the Arkansas Leadership Academy, and Dr. Diana Peer, Master Principal Leader, presented this award of distinction.

Cindy Dewey has been the principal at Willowbrook Elementary in Bentonville for three years. She earned Bachelors and Masters Degrees from the University of Arkansas. With ten years of experience as a school leader, she has a proven ability to manage projects, analyze data and stay current on latest research-based initiatives. Ms. Dewey is committed to engaging all stakeholders to create a safe, nurturing and academically challenging environment for every child.

“For schools to be at their best, they need the best leaders,” Arkansas Department of Education Commissioner Tony Wood said. “Through the Arkansas Leadership Academy, this principal has strengthened her focus toward college and career readiness. She has set the vision and culture necessary to improve student achievement. We celebrate her success as a school leader and her recognition of the value of ongoing professional learning.”

According to ALA Director, David Cook, “Developing principals with the talent to lead complex organizations requires giving them a broad range of leadership experiences along the way. This rigorous, four-year program enables school leaders to enhance and accelerate student and adult learning. I commend Mrs. Dewey for being dedicated to her students, teachers and learning communities. I also want to thank the Arkansas Legislature, the Arkansas Department of Education, and the Academy’s Partners for their support and vision in building the leadership capacity of principals across our great state.”